Bet on World Cup

The 2014 World Cup tournament takes place in Brazil from 12th June to 13th July. It will be the first time the World Cup has been held in South America since Argentina 1978. Brazil are the hosting the tournament for the second time having done so back in 1950 and have won the Cup on five previous occasions, most recently in 2002. Spain are the defending champions after beating Holland 1–0 in the final of the 2010 World Cup.

On this site we will focus a lot on how to best bet on the World Cup 2014 with best results.


Thirty-two teams will compete in the finals tournament following the conclusion of the qualifying groups and playoff matches. Brazil was granted automatic qualification as the host nation with the thirty-one remaining places available through regional qualification groups. Japan was the first team to join Brazil in the finals when they qualified on 4th June 2013. Australia, Iran and South Korea qualified shortly afterwards. It is the first time that Iran has progressed beyond the group stages.

In September, Italy and Holland booked their place in the finals by winning their respective groups. Italy has won the World Cup four times whilst the Dutch have been runner-up on three occasions. Costa Rica, the United States and Argentina also clinched their places later that month.

Belgium, considered a dark horse for the World Cup by many, won their qualifying group in October. Switzerland, Germany, Russia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, England and Spain also won their group. Colombia, Chile, Ecuador and Honduras are also safely through via their own regional qualification system.

The last places from the European qualifiers were taken by Portugal, France and Greece who won their playoff games.


The World Cup Final will be held at the Maracana in Rio de Janeiro, also the scene of the 1950 final, and this event will of course be the favourite when people bet on World Cup. The opening match was expected to be staged at Estadio do Morumbi in São Paulo, the largest city in Brazil. In June 2010 the stadium was excluded from hosting games because of a failure to provide financial guarantees for the improvements that were necessary to bring the stadium up to the required standard. Instead, the Arena de São Paulo will host the matches in the city. Half of the host cities have brand new venues built specifically for the World Cup.


The draw for the finals were held at Costa do Sauípe Resort in Bahia on 6th December. These are the final groups for the 2014 World Cup:

Group A

Brazil, Cameroon, Mexico and Croatia

Group B

Spain, Chile, Australia and Holland

Group C
Colombia, Ivory Coast, Japan and Greece

Group D
Uruguay, Italy, Costa Rica and England

Group E

Switzerland, Ecuador, Honduras and France

Group F

Argentina, Nigeria, Iran and Bosnia

Group G
Germany, Ghana, USA and Portugal

Group H

Belgium, Algeria, South Korea and Russia


Each of the group winners and the runners-up will go through to the round of 16. If two or more teams are level on points, their progress is determined by goal difference. Failing that, number of goals scored will be the determining factor before the results of the meetings between the teams.

Each team will be allowed to take 23 players including three goalkeepers to Brazil. The final squads have to be submitted at least ten days before the start of the tournament. Late replacements can be granted up to 24 hours before their first match in the case of injury.

Outright Betting

There will as always be a huge interest to bet on the world cup tournament and we can already see what teams will be contesting. Although officially only ranked eleventh by FIFA, Brazil are strong favourites to win the World Cup in 2014. This will be their twentieth appearance in the finals and they are expected to do extremely well as the host nation.

Argentina (currently ranked third) are also expected to benefit from having the tournament played in South America and are 11-2 along with three-time winners Germany. Defending champions Brazil are a top-price of 6-1 with Belgium the best of the outsiders at around 14-1. They owe their place in the betting to a number of promising young players currently doing well in the top European leagues.

Holland and Italy, both popular with punters who bet on World Cup, are priced at 22-1 whilst England are available at odds up to 25-1.

Other Markets

There will be a wide range of markets available on the 2014 World Cup betting event. Live Betting is becoming increasingly popular with more and more bookmakers now able to provide this service. Every match will be televised live and markets will include outright winner, half-time/full-time result, first goalscorer and last goalscorer. All of the usual markets for Premier League matches will be available on every game throughout the tournament with unprecedented media coverage.